Delaware
Legislators

State Officials

Governor

John Carney (D)

Born in Wilmington and raised in Claymont, Governor John Carney has been working for the Delaware people for more than 30 years. John took office as Delaware’s 74th Governor in January 2017, focused on making Delaware’s economy more competitive, preparing Delaware’s children to succeed, and building a long-term sustainable financial plan for the State of Delaware. Working with Delawareans across the state, and with members of the General Assembly, he has made progress on each of those priorities. John has directed new resources to high-needs schools, partnered with the private sector to drive new job creation, and taken steps to lower healthcare costs for Delaware families, businesses, and taxpayers.

Contact

302-744-4101
john.carney@delaware.gov

Lt. Governor

Bethany Hall-Long (D)

Bethany Hall-Long was sworn in as Delaware’s 26th Lt. Governor on January 17th, 2017. Born and raised on her family’s farm in Sussex County with her two older brothers, Bethany graduated from Indian River High School where she met her high school sweetheart, Dana. After graduation, she went on to pursue her childhood dream of becoming a nurse at Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia.

Contact

302-744-4333
bethany.hall-long@delaware.gov

Attorney General

Kathy Jennings (D)

As a prosecutor for the Delaware Department of Justice, Kathy prosecuted scores of domestic violence, sexual assault and homicide cases. She worked with fellow prosecutor Pete Letang, the FBI, New Castle County, and Delaware State Police to identify, arrest and prosecute a serial killer who tortured and murdered five women. This case marked the first time that DNA analysis was admitted into evidence in a Delaware Court.

Contact

302-739-4211
attorney.general@delaware.gov

Auditor of Accounts

Kathleen McGuiness (D)

Kathleen (Kathy) McGuiness was elected State Auditor in November 2018. When sworn into office, she became the first female State Auditor in Delaware history. As State Auditor, Kathy, a Certified Fraud Examiner, is responsible under Title 29 of Delaware Code for the auditing and reporting funds raised and spent by the State of Delaware annually.

Contact

302-739-4241
kathleen.mcginess@delaware.gov

Insurance Commissioner

Trinidad Navarro (D)

Trinidad Navarro was elected in 2016 as the State of Delaware’s 26th Insurance Commissioner. He was re-elected in 2020. In this role, he works to ensure insurance affordability and availability for residents as well as the accountability of insurance companies. As Commissioner, he leads the office charged with protecting, educating, and advocating for Delaware residents.

Contact

302-674-7300
consumer@delaware.gov

Treasurer

Colleen Davis (D)

In February 2021, The College Savings Plans Network (CSPN) nominated and confirmed Delaware State Treasurer In December 2020, Treasurer Kelly Mitchell of Indiana, incoming president of the National Association of State Treasurers (NAST), has named Treasurer Davis as Chair of NASTS’s Banking and Cash Management Committee. Previously the Vice Chair, Davis was charged with leading the committee in recommending policy for NAST and developing education content for NAST conferences and webinars.

Contact

302-672-6700
statetreasurer@delaware.gov

Delaware Senate

senate district 16

Colin Bonini (R)

Colin Bonini (Republican Party) is a member of the Delaware State Senate, representing District 16. He assumed office in 1995. His current term ends on November 8, 2022. Bonini (Republican Party) ran for election for Governor of Delaware. He lost in the Republican primary on September 15, 2020.

Contact

302-744-4169
Colin.Bonini@delaware.gov
Learn More

senate district 2

Darius Brown (D)

Representative Brown was born and raised in Wilmington, Delaware and attended Howard High School. He subsequently earned a paralegal certificate from Delaware Technical & Community College and a degree in political science with Delaware State University. Early in his career, Brown served as a community activist with Delaware ACORN and served as an aide in the Delaware Assembly with State Senator Margaret Rose Henry. He later served as a project assistant with United States Senator Joe Biden.

Contact

302-744-4286
Darius.Brown@delaware.gov
Learn More

senate district 14

Bruce Ennis (D)

Bruce Ennis (Democratic Party) is a member of the Delaware State Senate, representing District 14. He assumed office in 2007. His current term ends on November 8, 2022. Ennis (Democratic Party) ran for re-election to the Delaware State Senate to represent District 14. He won in the general election on November 3, 2020. Ennis served as a member of the Delaware House of Representatives from 1982 to 2007.

Contact

302-744-4310
Bruce.Ennis@delaware.gov
Learn More

senate district 6

Ernesto Lopez (R)

Representative Lopez holds a B.A. from Gettysburg College in Pennsylvania, an M.A. from the University of Delaware, and an Ed.D. from the University of Delaware. In his career, he served as associate director of undergraduate admissions with the University of Delaware and served as the state's 4-H volunteer coordinator with the cooperative extension unit at the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources.

Contact

302-744-4136
Ernesto.Lopez@delaware.gov

Senate District 5

Kyle Evans Gay (D)

After becoming a vocal advocate for the successful Equal Rights Amendment to the Delaware Constitution, Sen. Gay was elected to the Delaware Senate in 2020, becoming the first Democrat to represent the Fifth Senate District in more than 40 years. She currently serves as chair of the Senate Elections & Government Affairs Committee, co-chair of the Joint Legislative Oversight and Sunset Committee, vice chair of the Senate Judiciary Committee, and a member of both the Senate Transportation Committee and the Senate Veterans Affairs Committee.

Contact

302-744-4137
Kyle.Gay@delaware.gov
Learn More

Senate District 10

Stephanie Hansen (D)

Hansen received a law degree from Widener’s Delaware Law School after graduating from Seaford High School and the University of Delaware. She has participated in community service organizations such as the Bear/Glasgow Council of Civic Organizations—which she also helped to create—and has served as president of the New Castle County Council as well. Hansen has worked as environmental attorney, specializing in projects to convert commercial and industrial properties into environmental projects or small businesses.

Contact

302-744-4138
Stephanie.Hansen@delaware.gov
Learn More

Senate District 20

Gerald Hocker (R)

Gerald Hocker (Republican Party) is a member of the Delaware State Senate, representing District 20. He assumed office on January 8, 2013. His current term ends on November 8, 2022. Hocker (Republican Party) ran for re-election to the Delaware State Senate to represent District 20. He won in the general election on November 3, 2020. Hocker began serving as state Senate minority leader in 2019. Hocker served as a Republican member of the Delaware House of Representatives, representing District 38 from 2002 to 2013. During that time, he served as House Minority Whip.

Contact

302-744-4144
Gerald.Hocker@delaware.gov
Learn More

Senate District 15

Dave Lawson (R)

Since Dave joined the legislature in 2010, he has been tirelessly working for the citizens of District 15 and the entire State of Delaware. Dave is currently a member of the Judicial, Transportation and Joint Finance Committees. He is honored to have received many awards such as the 2013 Kent County Elected Official of the Year Award, the 2015 Delaware Veterans’ Stand Down Award, the Division for the Visually Impaired 2015 Legislative Leadership Partner of the Year Award, the Quality Deer Management Director’s Legislator Award and The Delaware Association of Conservation Districts 2016 Legislative Award.

Contact

302-744-4237
Dave.Lawson@delaware.gov
Learn More

Senate District 3

Elizabeth Lockman (D)

Since taking office, Sen. Lockman has continued the fight for public education reforms that will improve educational equity and outcomes for all students, particularly those in Wilmington and northern New Castle County. Sen. Lockman currently serves as chair of the Sunset Committee, vice chair of the Senate Education Committee and a member of the Senate Corrections & Public Safety and Transportation committees.

Contact

302-744-4168
Elizabeth.Lockman@delaware.gov
Learn More

Senate District 7

Spiros Mantzavinos (D)

Since Dave joined the legislature in 2010, he has been tirelessly working for the citizens of District 15 and the entire State of Delaware. Dave is currently a member of the Judicial, Transportation and Joint Finance Committees. He is honored to have received many awards such as the 2013 Kent County Elected Official of the Year Award, the 2015 Delaware Veterans’ Stand Down Award, the Division for the Visually Impaired 2015 Legislative Leadership Partner of the Year Award, the Quality Deer Management Director’s Legislator Award and The Delaware Association of Conservation Districts 2016 Legislative Award.

Contact

302-744-4133
Spiros.Mantzavinos@delaware.gov
Learn More

Senate District 1

Sarah McBride (D)

Sarah currently serves as a spokesperson for the Human Rights Campaign, the nation’s largest LGBTQ advocacy organization. In 2016, she made history when she spoke at the Democratic National Convention in Philadelphia. And this past year, Sarah taught public policy to students at the University of Delaware’s Biden Institute. In 2018, Sarah published Tomorrow Will Be Different. The book recounts her experiences fighting for equality in Delaware and nationally, as well as her relationship with her late husband, Andrew Cray, for whom McBride was a caregiver throughout a battle with cancer that ultimately claimed his life.

Contact

302-744-4147
Sarah.McBride@delaware.gov
Learn More

Senate District 7

Trey Paradee (D)

William "Trey" Charles Paradee, III was born in Kent County, Delaware. He earned a B.A. in English with a concentration in business and technical writing from the University of Delaware in 1991, and earned an M.B.A. from the University of Delaware in 1998. Paradee’s career experience includes working as a financial advisor and owner of Paradee Financial Limited Liability Company. As of November 2019, he served on the Executive Committee of the DelMarVa Council of the Boy Scouts of America.

Contact

302-744-4162
Trey.Paradee@delaware.gov
Learn More

Senate District 1

Brian Pettyjohn (R)

Representative Pettyjohn was born and raised in Georgetown, Delaware and attended Liberty University and the University of Delaware. He has held a variety of positions throughout his career, including serving as telecommunications director with Applied Card Systems, serving as a consultant with both Avaya Call Center and Professional Services Info Systems, and serving as a board member with Children and Families First of Delaware

Contact

302-744-4117
Brian.Pettyjohn@delaware.gov
Learn More

Senate District 7

Trey Paradee (D)

William "Trey" Charles Paradee, III was born in Kent County, Delaware. He earned a B.A. in English with a concentration in business and technical writing from the University of Delaware in 1991, and earned an M.B.A. from the University of Delaware in 1998. Paradee’s career experience includes working as a financial advisor and owner of Paradee Financial Limited Liability Company. As of November 2019, he served on the Executive Committee of the DelMarVa Council of the Boy Scouts of America.

Contact

302-744-4162
Trey.Paradee@delaware.gov
Learn More

Senate District 13

Marie Pinkney (D)

Marie Pinkney is a Master Level Social Worker, foster mom, and community advocate who understands the struggles facing many Delawareans. She has dedicated her career to advocating for struggling families. Marie is focused on improving a system that too often fails those it is supposed to protect. Marie grew up in New Castle and Wilmington. She attended Howard High School of Technology and Delaware State University for college and graduate school.

Contact

302-744-4167
Marie.Pinkney@delaware.gov
Learn More

Senate District 12

Nicole Poore (D)

As an advocate for the Delaware community, Senator Poore uses her experience, network, influence, and superb communication skills to bring issues directly to those who have the power to make a difference. Whether it’s making early morning, mid-afternoon, or late-night phone calls to fight for equal insurance benefits, or meeting directly with Delaware lawmakers to gain approvals for grants and funding initiatives, Senator Poore always goes the extra mile to affect positive change.

Contact

302-744-4164
Nicole.Poore@delaware.gov
Learn More

Senate District 21

Bryant Richardson (R)

Owner with wife Carol of Morning Star Publications, Inc., publishers of the Seaford Star and Laurel Star community newspapers, the Morning Star Business Report, the Salisbury Star, biannual magazines for five area chambers of commerce and a number of specialty publications. Morning Star Publications, Inc., was started in April 1996. Former owner of Banner Publications, Inc. Former general manager of The Leader and State Register.

Contact

302-744-4298
Bryant.Richardson@delaware.gov
Learn More

Senate District 8

David Sokola (D)

David Sokola (Democratic Party) is a member of the Delaware State Senate, representing District 8. He assumed office in 1991. His current term ends on November 8, 2022. Sokola (Democratic Party) ran for re-election to the Delaware State Senate to represent District 8. He won in the general election on November 3, 2020. Sokola began serving as state Senate president pro tempore in 2020.

Contact

302-744-4139
David.Sokola@delaware.gov
Learn More

Senate District 4

Laura Sturgeon (D)

Hockessin and parts of Pike Creek. The daughter of Argentine immigrants, Sturgeon has lived or worked in Delaware since she was just over a year old. A proud graduate of Brandywine High School, she later earned a bachelor’s degree in communications and a master’s degree in English literature, both from the University of Delaware.

Contact

302-744-4135
Laura.Sturgeon@delaware.gov
Learn More

Senate District 11

Bryan Townsend (D)

Sen. Bryan Townsend represents the 11th Senatorial District, A native Delawarean, Bryan is the son of a retired Newark police officer and a long-serving public school teacher. He graduated from Glasgow High School in 1999 before attending the University of Delaware and earning a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree in Economics, along with a bachelor’s degree in Philosophy/Biology. He then earned a Master of Philosophy degree in Chinese Studies from the University of Cambridge before receiving a law degree from Yale Law School.

Contact

302-744-4165
Bryan.Townsend@delaware.gov
Learn More

Senate District 9

Jack Walsh (D)

Senator Jack Walsh represents the 9th Senate District, which includes Christiana and portions of Newark, Pike Creek, Stanton and Newport. A lifelong Delawarean and graduate of St. Mark’s High School, Senator Walsh is an electrician by trade and has been a proud member of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Local 313 for nearly 35 years. Senator Walsh is a former baseball coach for Midway Little League and St. John the Beloved, where he and his family have long been parishioners.

Contact

302-744-4163
John.Walsh@delaware.gov
Learn More

Senate District 18

David L.Wilson (R)

David Wilson (Republican Party) is a member of the Delaware State Senate, representing District 18. He assumed office on January 8, 2019. His current term ends on November 8, 2022. Wilson (Republican Party) ran for election to the Delaware State Senate to represent District 18. He won in the general election on November 6, 2018. Wilson (b. January 8, 1950) is a former Republican member of the Delaware House of Representatives, representing District 35 from 2009 to 2018. Wilson did not file to run for re-election in 2018.

Contact

302-744-4048
David.L.Wilson@delaware.gov
Learn More

Delaware House Reps

Last First Party Phone Email District
Chukwouocha Nnamdi D 302-744-4351 Nnamdi.Chukwuocha@delaware.gov RD1
Matthews Sean D 302-744-4351 Sean.Matthews@delaware.gov RD10
Speigelman Jeffrey R 302-744-4171 Jeff.Spiegelman@delaware.gov RD11
Griffith Krista D 302-744-4351 Krista.Griffith@delaware.gov RD12
Mitchell John D 302-744-4351 John.L.Mitchell@delaware.gov RD13
Schwartzkopf Peter D 302-744-4351 Peter.Schwartzkopf@delaware.gov RD14
Longhurst Valeria D 302-744-4351 Valerie.Longhurst@delaware.gov RD15
Franklin Cooke D 302-744-4351 FranklinD.Cooke@delaware.gov RD16
Melissa Minor-Brown D 302-744-4351 Melissa.MinorBrown@delaware.gov RD17
Bentz David D 302-744-4351 David.Bentz@delaware.gov RD18
Williams Kimberly D 302-744-4351 Kimberly.Williams@delaware.gov RD19
Bolden Stephanie D 302-744-4351 StephanieT.Bolden@delaware.gov RD2
Stephen Smyk R 302-744-4171 Steve.Smyk@delaware.gov RD20
Ramone Michael R 302-744-4171 Michael.Ramone@delaware.gov RD21
Smith Michael R 302-744-4171 Michael.F.Smith@delaware.gov RD22
Baumbach Paul D 302-744-4221 Paul.Baumbach@delaware.gov RD23
Osienski Edward D 302-744-4351 Edward.Osienski@delaware.gov RD24
Kowalko John D 302-744-4351 John.Kowalko@delaware.gov RD25
Wilson-Anton Madinah D 302-744-4351 Madinah.Wilson-Anton@delaware.gov RD26
Morrison Eric D 302-744-4351 Eric.Morrison@delaware.gov RD27
Carson William D 302-744-4351 William.Carson@delaware.gov RD28
Bush William D 302-744-4351 William.Bush@delaware.gov RD29
Drosey-Walker Sherry D 302-744-4351 Sherry.DorseyWalker@delaware.gov RD3
Morris Shannon R 302-744-4171 Shannon.Morris@delaware.gov RD30
Lynn Sean D 302-744-4351 Sean.Lynn@delaware.gov RD31
Bennett Andria D 302-744-4351 Andria.Bennett@delaware.gov RD32
Postles Charles R 302-744-4081 Charles.Postles@delaware.gov RD33
Yearick Lyndon R 302-744-4171 Lyndon.Yearick@delaware.gov RD34
Vanderwende Jesse R 302-744-4267 Jesse.Vanderwende@delaware.gov RD35
Shupe Bryan R 302-744-4171 Bryan.Shupe@delaware.gov RD36
Briggs-Kind Ruth R 302-744-4251 Ruth.BriggsKing@delaware.gov RD37
Gray Ronald R 302-744-4171 Ronald.Gray@delaware.gov RD38
Short Daniel R 302-744-4172 Daniel.Short@delaware.gov RD39
Brady Gerald D 302-744-4351 Gerald.Brady@delaware.gov RD4
Dukes Timothy R 302-744-4171 Timothy.Dukes@delaware.gov RD40
Collins Richard R 302-744-4082 Rich.Collins@delaware.gov RD41
Johnson Kendra D 302-744-4351 Kendra.Johnson@delaware.gov RD5
Heffernan Debra D 302-744-4351 Debra.Heffernan@delaware.gov RD6
Lamber Larry D 302-744-4351 Larry.Lambert@delaware.gov RD7
Moore Sherae’a D 302-744-4351 Rae.Moore@delaware.gov RD8
Hensley Kevin R 302-744-4171 Kevin.Hensley@delaware.gov RD9